Finally, you can define for each rate plan two lists of rate plans that are called “change options”:
- anytime change option
- no refund change options
You can think of these two change options as upgrades (anytime) and downgrades (no refund). That is, the rate plan can be replaced by the customer by any rate plan listed as one of the two change options.
The difference is that the “anytime change option” is applied effective immediately while the “no refund change option” is always applied at the end of the current term or at the end of the billing period that has been invoiced already.
So you could also allow to downgrade at any time by defining a cheaper rate plan as “anytime change option”, but in such a case the customer might get refunds.
In this example, the features appear as bullet points in the first screenshot. In the customer center, the customer later has the option to change from this rate plan to 2 others defined here as well.